Inhalte aufrufen

Profilbild

Creating a widget

widget documentation

• Bitte melden Sie sich an, um eine Antwort zu verfassen.
14 Antworten zu diesem Thema

#1 JBTB

JBTB

• Members
  • PunktPunkt
  • 10 Beiträge

Geschrieben: 08 March 2018 - 07:22

Hello, I'm new to SmartStore development and figuring out how to create by first widget.

I created one but it does not appear on the page where I would expect it. I followed the same approach as in the Paypall plugin.

When I put a breakpoint on the constructor of the widget, it never gets there. It looks like the only way to inform SmartStore about the existence of my widget is by adding the DependentWidgets attribute on the Plugin to register it for a provider.

My questions:

1. Are there other ways to have SmartStore notice and load the Widget?

2. Where can I find documentation about the concept of the Providers in the context of SmartStore? I'd like to know when to use them. Any information about concepts like Hooks would be really helpful and would lower the barrier to get started deloping plugins.

3. What's the best way to add a new page with a widget without touching the existing SmartStore code (for easy upgrading)?

Thanks in advance,

Jeroen

PS: Links to the examples on Confluence documentation are broken (all except 1).

#2 Marcus Gesing

Marcus Gesing

SmartStore AG

• Administrators
  • 3799 Beiträge

Geschrieben: 08 March 2018 - 14:06

1. The PayPal plugin uses action filters for the widgets. Maybe their registration is missing?

2. Some information can be found here. Hooks are used to monitor the data exchange with the database and execute additional code if necessary. They are used for a similar purpose as event consumers.

3. Widgets only inject small pieces of HTML, not whole pages. The Dev-Tools plugin has an example of how to integrate a new page in the backend.

Marcus Gesing

Smartstore AG

#3 JBTB

JBTB

• Members
  • PunktPunkt
  • 10 Beiträge

Geschrieben: 08 March 2018 - 16:19